Distinguished Chair Award






The Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair in American Studies was offered for the first time in 2005, marking the bicentennial of the birth of Alexis de Tocqueville, the famous french historian and politician and author of "Democracy in America".

 The award aims to reinforce collaborative research between France and the United States in France by developing the latest trends in American studies.

 Since 2010, the chair position is open to all fields. Fields of specialization can include: public administration, arts, art history, cinema, law, economics, history, literature, philosophy, public policy, religion, international relations, political science, social sciences and the hard sciences.

 It is financed by the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research and the Franco-American Commission.

Stipend: €6,500/ month if in Paris. If outside Paris, between €6,100/ month and €6,300/ month depending on location. Additional travel allowance of €1,200.


2015-2016 Awardees


February 2016 - July 2016 

 Timothy Deming
Professor of Bioengineering and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

University of California, Los Angeles

 Hosted by Laboratoire de Chimie des Polymères Organiques, Université de Bordeaux
Henri Cramail (Director) and Sébastien Lecommandoux (Assistant Director)

 Read his biography and see conference schedule




January 2016 - June 2016

William Weeks
Professor of Psychiatry and of Community and Family Medicine

Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College


Hosted by Aix-Marseille School of Economics, Université d'Aix-Marseille
Bruno Ventelou, Professor at AMSE and Researcher with GREQAM


Read his biography and see conference schedule





facebook twitter youtube





Read about our US grantees!